my top five must see films

Hello!

I’m back! This time to let you in on five films that I consider must-sees. I will say in advance- I’m no film expert. I will admit that I cried watching Frozen for the 4th time. But really- is that ever a problem? The films also aren’t in any particular order, as I’m too indecisive to choose my favourite. Enjoy.

  1. WHIPLASH (2014) 

Director: Damien Chazelle

Starring: Miles Teller, J.K Simmons

This may actually be my favourite film. It follows the story of a young drummer (played by Miles Teller) who is seeking the approval of the seasoned conducting genius (played by J.K Simmons). I think this film is fantastic- the progression from a feudal music drama into a psychological thriller is gradual, but chillingly evident all the same. J.K Simmons’ Oscar-winning role as Terence Fletcher is a perfect casting; his intensity is unnerving. The score itself is a piece of work to be admired; the eponymous piece ‘Whiplash’ is full of the kind of energy that immediately sets you on edge. Overall, this film may be the most urgent must-see on the list- I was in awe throughout it at the incredible layers of artistry and talent.

2.   FERRIS BUELLER’S DAY OFF (1987)

Director: John Hughes

Starring: Matthew Broderick

Not quite as much to say on this one, it’s just really funny. 80s-style fashion and The Office-style sideways camera eye? Sign me up.

3.  LA LA LAND (2016)

Director: Damien Chazelle

Starring: Emma Stone, Ryan Gosling, John Legend

If you didn’t like this film, you either don’t know much about film, know too much about film, or passionately hate musical movies. I thought I was the latter, but this is the ultimate feel-good and I was astounded by how much I loved it. I saw it three times in cinemas, and cried progressively more every time. The score is beautiful, the costumes and colour palettes are gorgeous, and the storyline is heartbreakingly perfect- the ending is something nobody wants, but everyone silently agrees made the movie 10x better.

4.   THE IMPOSSIBLE (2012)

Director: J. A. Bayona

Starring: Naomi Watts, Ewan McGregor

Tears will be shed. This is such an uplifting film, and I think that you absolutely must watch it if you haven’t. The story is based off a real-life event (the 2004 Boxing Day tsunami in Thailand) and it is played out incredibly; the acting is unlike anything else I’ve seen, and the production standard is stunningly high. This film will break your heart, and fix it again in such a way that you will feel immensely grateful for having watched it. I have watched this film so many times, and I will never get bored of how it makes me feel.

5.  INSIDE OUT (2015)

Director: Pete Docter

Starring: Kaitlyn Dias, Amy Poehler

When did Disney get so meta? For a children’s film, this is equal to the quality of any other blockbuster, and touches the hearts of kids and their parents alike. The story of a young girl moving state is followed through the feelings of her emotions themselves- her brain is like some sort of wonderful Disneyland where all her memories glow like (probably overpriced and Mickey Mouse shaped) sweets. Being  a Pixar, it shares the whole this-joke-is-for-your-parents complex as seen in Toy Story, which makes the whole film feel much more dimensional and definitely increases the watchability (is that a word?). Disney strikes again.

 

Well, here we are at the end. There are, of course, a lot of rejects on the list that I cut for the sake of being well-rounded (yes I know I have 2 Damien Chazelle films on here, no I couldn’t cut one). Thank you for reading, if anyone did, and I’ll see you soon!

Drop me a comment if there’s anything else you want my opinions on,  let me know the films you would have chosen, or maybe what you thought of my choices!

frankilily x

 

 

Leave a Reply

